Fried Egg Cake

– German cuisine –

In my kitchen vocabulary, baking usually means chocolate is somehow involved. A while ago I found a recipe for cake which didn’t include any chocolate, yet I fell in love immediately: Spiegeleierkuchen. Basically it’s a cake disguised as fried eggs on bread. The resemblance is so striking, I just couldn’t resist trying this one out.

The original recipe I have found is from Mowie, a German food photographer living in London. I did change some of the ingredients from his list to my personal likings. Instead of vanilla pudding, I used cheesecake for topping. In the bottom cake I replaced the almonds by cashew nuts and mixed with some pistache nuts.

Base cake – Check out Mowie’s instructions how to prepare the base cake. 

Cheese cake topping

Cream cheese (like Kraft’s Philadelphia) – 250 grams

Gelatin – 4 sheets

Sugar – 8 tablespoons

Vanilla sugar – 2 packages

Lemon juice – 2 tablespoons. If you work with canned apricots, you can also use apricot juice. 

Fresh cream – 200ml

Water – 100ml

Soak the gelatin sheets in water. Be sure not to squeeze them as you might usually do. Melt the soaked gelatin sheets in the water by heating it. Add the sugar, stir and wait till the gelatin and sugar are completely dissolved. Make sure it never gets to boiling point. Put aside for cooling down.

Whisk the cream cheese and mix with the lemon juice (or apricot juice) and vanilla sugar. Add the gelatine mix and stir well. Whip the fresh cream and carefully mix it under the cream cheese.

Smudge the cheese cake mix over the base cake and finish with the apricots. Put in the fridge for 12-24 hours.

Your fried eggs cake is now ready to be eaten, enjoy.

2 comments
  1. I never heard of a friend egg cake before but I have to say this definitely look scrumptious. I can’t wait to try this. Thanks for providing the recipe. Very good post.

share thOughts!

