Moelleux au chocolat

Dessert – I’m not a chocoholic nor a big fan of desserts, but it doesn’t take much to melt for this sweet treat. I often order one when I eat out, and I have tried baking them myself a few times. The first time I was blessed with beginner’s luck and a crunchy-on-the-outside molten-on-the-inside masterpiece miraculously came out of my oven. And then there was the time when I practically served chocolate sauce, as well as the time when a dark Sponge Bob was born. A few months have passed without any new attempts, which I believe was right about long enough to get my beginner’s luck back, today.

Moelleux au chocolat (2 serves): 50g dark chocolate, 55g butter, 25g sifted flower, 50g dark sugar, 1 egg, 1 egg yolk.

Melt the butter with the chocolate. Mix the sugar with the egg and egg yolk and gradually add sifted flower. Then add melted chocolate. Put into a piping bag (I don’t have one but I use a little freezer bag from which I cut out the corner later on) and leave to cool in the fridge. Don’t remove from fridge until right before baking, this is crucial for succes.

Pre-heat your oven to 210°C and prepare 2 metal rings (about 6-7 cm wide) by buttering the inside and adding some flower. This will make it easy to remove your moelleux from the ring after baking.Fill baking rings up to 2/3 and put in the oven for about 10-14 minutes (depending on the size of your moelleux and strength of your oven).

Remove from oven and rings and serve immediately with some ice cream, or fruit if you want to keep it ‘healthy’.

share thOughts!

