Chocolate zucchini cake

Having prepared about five different zucchini recipes over the past two weeks and with a number of massive ones still left in my veggie stock, I went recipe hunting. When a few searches repeatedly led me to a combination of chocolate and zucchini in a cake, I had to look up the Dutch translation of zucchini to make sure I wasn’t misunderstanding this. Chocolate and courgette, are you serious? 

When I found the recipe on a Dutch language blog by Caroline Brouwer, I concluded there was nothing wrong with my basic English and gave it a try. The result was – as promised by the recipe – a pleasant surprise. If I hadn’t baked the cake myself, I would have never believed there was courgette in there, since you cannot see nor taste it.

You might wonder what is the added value then? Well, next to an overload of vitamins A, B, C and tons of anti-oxidants, you get a delicious ultra-moist cake without using any butter. Time to treat yourself on the biggest piece of chocolate cake you can possibly eat.

Chocolate-zucchini cake: 350 gr self-raising flower, 50 gr cocoa powder, 1 tsp speculoos spices, 175 ml olive oil extra vierge, 375 sugar, 3 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla extract, 500 ml grated zucchini, 140 roasted hazelnuts (roughly crushed)

Topping: 200 gr dark chocolate, 100 ml whipped cream.

Pre-heat your oven to 175°C. Mix the flower, cocoa, spices and a tsp of salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the olive oil, sugar eggs, vanilla and grated zucchini. Then mix both bowls and add the hazelnuts. Grease a baking tray (about 24 cm) with butter, then fill with batter. Put into oven and leave for about 50-60 minutes, depending on the size of your baking tray.

Melt the dark chocolate and whip under the cream. Carefully cover the top of your cake with the chocolate-cream mix, then place into frigde and leave to stiffen the chocolate cover.

Original recipe from “Good Food” July 2010
3 comments
  1. That looks delicious! They once served this at our school for dinner; all the kids thought it was something far more exciting than ‘courgettes’ – they all went back for seconds. Great way of getting vegetables into kids!

  2. As soon as I saw ‘speculoos spices’ I knew you were from Belgium too 😉
    What a great idea to combine zucchini and chocolate btw

    • Well the idea isn’t mine, but I must say I love this combination too, it’s really worth trying!
      And yes, speculoos makes soo many things better 🙂

share thOughts!

